women in travel

2014 Tourism Hall of Fame Inductees Named


TIAC has announced this year’s inductees into the Canadian Tourism Hall of Fame – Hank Stackhouse, former president and CEO of Delta Hotels & Resorts, and Wendy Swedlove, president of the Canadian Tourism Human Resource Council.

The two will be recognized for their outstanding contribution to the tourism industry at the Air Canada Opening Ceremony & Canadian Tourism Hall of Fame Luncheon in Ottawa on Nov. 25 as part of the Tourism Congress.

The Canadian Tourism Hall of Fame publicly recognizes those individuals that have made tourism an important part of their life’s work and whose actions have had a positive impact on the industry they serve.

Stackhouse is an accomplished industry veteran with 30 plus years of experience in the Canadian hospitality industry. As the retired president and CEO of Delta Hotels and Resorts, he lead a team of more than 8,000 colleagues and oversaw a portfolio of 46 hotels and resorts with more than 13,000 guest rooms across Canada.

He is an active member in industry affairs now serving as a director and past chair of the Hotel Association of Canada board of directors as well as being currently enrolled in Rotman’s School of Management’s “Directors Education Program.”

Swedlove has been the president of the Canadian Tourism Human Resource Council, since its establishment in 1993. Over this time the Council has been at the forefront of producing the labour market information necessary to understand the sector’s employment characteristics, growth, compensation, and labour supply/demand gaps.

The Council has also developed national occupational standards, professional certification programs, paper-based and online work place training, under the emerit brand, and career information under the Discover Tourism brand.

In 2012, Swedlove was awarded an Honorary Doctorate degree from the University of Guelph in recognition of her commitment to the stewardship of the resources and programs that have been developed for the benefit of Canadians who are tourism employees, business owners, students, and educators.

Prior to her tenure with the CTHRC, she spent eight years with the organization that is now the Canadian Tourism Commission. Prior to her work with tourism, Swedlove held positions with the Foreign Investment Review Agency, the Canadian Transport Commission, and the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources.


Posted in Appointments, News