2015 Canadian Tourism Awards Winners


Fifteen organizations and individuals were honoured by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) last night (Dec. 2) as recipients of the 2015 Canadian Tourism Awards.

The awards were presented during a ceremony at the Westin Ottawa Hotel.

“Tonight’s awards have done an excellent job of representing our Canadian tourism industry to the fullest. I am honoured to be a part of recognizing the outstanding innovation, dedication and expertise all of our nominees and winners have put forward,” said TIAC president Charlotte Bell. “It is crucial, not only that these accomplishments are recognized and celebrated, but that we learn from these successes to prepare for Canada’s continued future as a world-class destination.”

The Canadian Tourism Awards are presented annually by TIAC to recognize success, leadership and innovation in Canada’s tourism industry, and to reward those people, places, organizations and events that have gone above and beyond to offer travellers superior tourism experiences in Canada.

The 2015 winners are: The Aboriginal Tourism Association of Canada National Aboriginal Cultural Tourism Award: Vancouver Native Housing Society; Air Canada Business of the Year Award: Rocky Mountaineer (pictured); VIA Rail Canada Community Service Award: Gros Morne Cooperating Association; InterContinental Hotels Group Tourism Employee of the Year Award: Michelle Blakely, Tourism Moose Jaw; InnVest REIT Tourism Employer of the Year Award: Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel; Metro Toronto Convention Centre Event of the Year Award: Canmore Uncorked; Brewster Travel Canada Innovator of the Year Award: RAW: almond; Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Marketing Campaign of the Year Award: “Sculpted in Time” Banff Lake Louise Tourism; The Federal-Provincial-Territorial Culture/Heritage And Tourism Initiative National Cultural Tourism Award: Canadian Museum for Human Rights; Hilton Worldwide Small or Medium-Sized Business of the Year Award: Camping Orléans; Parks Canada Youth Tourism Entrepreneur Award: Jesse Cooke, Husky Bus; WestJet Social Media Initiative of the Year Award: “International Hair Freezing Contest” Takhini Hot Pools; Transat AT Sustainable Tourism Award: Outer Shores Expeditions; VISA Canada Traveller Experience of the Year Award: Harbour Air Group; The 2015 Tourism Toronto Lifetime Achievement Award: Don Cudmore, Tourism Industry Association of Prince Edward Island.