Travel Agent Appreciation

ACTA Wraps Up AGM with Passing of Special Resolution


The Association of Canadian Travel Agencies (ACTA) held its annual general meeting this week in Toronto with association president David McCaig praising the team for its accomplishments over the past year.

“I applaud the team for our accomplishments this past year. The integration of CITC into ACTA went better than expected and enrollment is up from seven at this time last year to 112 this year. This speaks volumes to the commitment of ACTA members towards professionalism in our industry.”

McCaig also brought members up to date on ACTA’s status within the lobby and advocacy arena including progress with ACTA’s Travel Health Insurance Committee, involvement in NDC, the latest on NCF’s, fraud prevention and ACTA’s marketing toolkit to support the promotion of the travel agent to the consumer.

A special resolution was introduced and passed. Members were asked to vote on whether to accept proposed revisions to the current ACTA by-laws for continuance under the CNCA. A copy of the application for continuance and the revised bylaws are available on the ACTA web site at .

ACTA annual award recipients were also announced. The recipient of the Bonita Maguire-Wamsley award went to Cynthia Wong, CTM, of CAA Saskatchewan, for achieving the highest mark on the Certified Travel Manager (CTM) work paper. Winners of the Ches Chard award in a first-ever tie was Andrea Rowbottom of CWT Harvey’s Travel in St. Anthony NL, and CAA Atlantic for demonstrating a significant commitment to professionalism, education, training and excellence in human resources management. This award is presented to an individual, travel agency, or group.

Pictured, ACTA’s board of directors (l-r) Sharon Kaendo, Mike Foster, David Elmy, Marilyn Long – CTM, Arend Roos, Doug Boyd, Robert Durant, Lindsay Pearlman, David McCaig, Mary Jane Hiebert. Absent: Michael Thompson, Monique Audet, Andrew Enns.


Posted in News