Canada, Australia, Argentina Off EU Safe Travel List

Canada, along with Australia and Argentina, have been removed from the EU’s safe travel list which applies to non-essential travel by third countries into the EU.

The European Council made the announcement of its recommendation on Jan. 17, 2022.

As a result, the European Council is recommending that EU member states reintroduce temporary entry bans or travel restrictions on travellers from the three countries

The move comes following a review under the recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU.

Non-essential travel to the EU from countries or entities not listed in Annex I is subject to temporary travel restriction. This is without prejudice to the possibility for member states to lift the temporary restriction on non-essential travel to the EU for fully vaccinated travellers.

As stipulated in the Council recommendation, this list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks and, as the case may be, updated.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, as from Jan. 17, 2022 member states should gradually lift the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:


* Bahrain

* Chile

* Colombia

* Indonesia

* Kuwait

* New Zealand

* Peru

* Qatar

* Rwanda

* Saudi Arabia

* South Korea

* United Arab Emirates

* Uruguay

* China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity


Travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for the special administrative regions of China Hong Kong and Macao.

Under the category of entities and territorial authorities that are not recognized as states by at least one member state, travel restrictions for Taiwan should also be gradually lifted.

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation.

The criteria to determine the third countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted were updated on May 20, 2021. They cover the epidemiological situation and overall response to COVID-19, as well as the reliability of the available information and data sources. Reciprocity should also be taken into account on a case by case basis.

Schengen associated countries (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) also take part in this recommendation.