Canada Closing Its Borders

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau told Canadians that Canada was closing its borders to people who are not Canadian citizens or permanent residents of this country. The only exception to the new rules were for diplomats, flight crews and US citizens.

Airlines will now also be able to bar any passenger exhibiting symptoms of COVID-19 from their flights and air operators will be required to do passenger assessments under the guidance of public health authorities.

And, international flights will now only be handled through four Canadian airports – Montreal, Toronto, Calgary and Vancouver – in order to that officials can ramp up the testing for COVID-19 on passengers arriving on these international flights.