Hungary Opens Its Doors Wider

Hungary is opening its doors to travellers from outside the European Union – including from the US and Canada as member states from the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).

The move marks the first time the country has been open to travellers from the US and Canada since March 2020.

As of August 7, those non-EU travellers are able to enter Hungary by air without any further restrictions when they present a negative PCR certificate for a COVID-19 test in either in Hungarian or English.

In order to be valid, the PCR test must have been taken within 72 hours prior to arrival.

The following nationalities may enter the territory of Hungary with an immunity certificate issued by the government of Hungary, with an EU digital COVID-19 certificate or with a negative PCR certificate for a COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours prior to arrival:

  • A Member State of the European Union
  • A candidate country for accession to the European Union
  • A Member State of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
  • A Member State of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO)
  • The Russian Federation
  • The People’s Republic of China
  • The United Arab Emirates; the Kingdom of Bahrain
  • A Member State of the Cooperation Council for Turkic Language States (the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Turkey, the Republic of Uzbekistan)
  • A country named in a decree from the Minister of Foreign Affairs, and in agreement with the Minister of Public Security.

Currently, masks or the presentation of an immunity certificate are not required in accommodation, restaurants or tourist attractions.






Posted in Canada, COVID-19, News, Tourism Organizations