Star shines with enhanced Asia Airpass

Star Alliance has launched an enhanced Asia Airpass for travel across the Asian continent, which in addition to the 15 countries and territories already offered, now includes Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Its scope has further been extended to include all Star Alliance destinations in Japan and additional flights to India. Airpasses can be purchased in conjunction with any international return ticket for travel into the area on a Star Alliance member airline. The announcement comes as Air Canada is making it easier than ever to fly to Asia. Air Canada has announced it is increasing service to Asia this summer with up to 11 non-stop flights per day from Toronto, Vancouver and Calgary to its Asian gateways: Hong Kong, Shanghai, Beijing, Tokyo and Seoul. Highlights of Air Canada’s Asia schedule include an increase of Calgary-Tokyo non-stop flights to daily service (May 1), the launch of new non-stop flights between Toronto and Seoul (June 1), and an increase in flights from Toronto and Vancouver to Beijing to up to 10 and 11 per week, respectively (June 1). The Asia Airpass is valid for a minimum of three flights and a maximum of 10, with a choice of over 235 destinations. Further countries that may be visited on an Asia Airpass trip are Cambodia, China including Hong Kong SAR , Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam. (