Twelve organizations and individuals were honoured this week by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) as recipients of the 2013 Canadian Tourism Awards, presented during a gala ceremony at the Fairmont Château Laurier in Ottawa. “These outstanding groups of individuals and organizations have demonstrated ingenuity, perseverance and determination on the path to success and are a testament to the quality of Canada\’s world-class tourism industry,” said TIAC president David Goldstein. “Not only have they excelled through their extraordinary vision and hard work, but these business leaders are also drivers of economic growth and job creation in Canada. The industry congratulates them on their success and on this outstanding achievement.”

The 2013 winners are: Air Canada Business of the Year Award (first ever tie), Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts, Calgary; Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa, Courtenay, BC; Via Rail Canada Community Service Award, Delta Hotels in Halifax, Halifax; InterContinental Hotels Group Employee of the Year Award, Kareen Chambers, The Fairmont Winnipeg, Winnipeg; Oxford Properties Employer of the Year Award, Rocky Mountaineer, Vancouver; Metro Toronto Convention Centre Event of the Year Award, Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, Montreal; Brewster Travel Canada Innovator of the Year Award, Le Massif de Charlevoix, Baie-Saint-Paul, Que.; Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Marketing Campaign of the Year Award, “Calgary, Our Doors are Open,” Tourism Calgary, Calgary; National Cultural Tourism Award, The Fogo Island Inn, Fogo Island, Nfld.; Hilton Worldwide Small or Medium-Sized Business of the Year Award, Anderson Vacations, Calgary; WestJet Social Media Initiative of the Year Award, “365 Days of Dining,” Tourism Richmond, Richmond, BC; Transat AT Sustainable Tourism Award, Bluewater Adventures, North Vancouver, BC; Deloitte Traveller Experience of the Year Award, Great Wolf Lodge, Niagara Falls, Ont.