ACTA Scores A Hole-In-One

Under sunny skies, the 30th annual ACTA-Ontario golf tournament was held yesterday at the Royal Ontario Golf Club in Milton and proved to be yet another huge success with a big turnout and helping raise money for Tourism Cares.

Speaking with PressToday, ACTA-Ontario president Wendy Paradis said she was thrilled with the turnout and noted that for the 30th consecutive year the popular tournament has been a sell out – which she described as a “fantastic problem.”

“We work so hard in this industry, it’s great to come out and have fun and network,” she said. “This is the tournament to be at.”

She added that while industry personnel certainly came out to golf, they also turned out to connect and network.

“We’re so glad to see so many of our travel agency partners and suppliers here,” said Paradis. “It’s definitely a special day.”

Monies raised — $1,035 — from the tournament, mostly from 50-50 ticket sales, go towards Tourism Cares, a global non-profit organization that unites the travel and tourism industry to positively benefit the people and places the industry depends on. Members include leading travel associations such as ACTA, helping destinations in need and improving the industry’s corporate social responsibility.


Top Men’s Team – Winning Team (score of -12) – Don McPhail, Enterprise Holdings, James Ware, Enterprise Holdings, Ian Race, Vision Travel, Danny Murray, Vision Travel.

Top Ladies’ Team – Winning Team (score of +15) – Lynne Ray, BrokerLink, Cathy Baleck, BrokerLink, Frances Donato, BrokerLink, Maria da Cunha, da Cunha Voyages.

Top Mixed Team – Winning Team (score of -7) – Robert Needs, Sabre, James McNair Uniglobe Travel, Carole Burnes Sabre, Mitch McClung Baxter Media.

Most Honest Golf Team – Kim Clarke, Globus, Pam deHaan,, Patrice Geske Globus, Earl Lince, Baxter Media;

Ladies’ Closest to the Pin – Kristina Rigby, Enterprise Holdings.

Men’s Closest to the Pin – Ian Tillson, Myrtle Beach CVB.

Ladies’ Longest Drive – Lori Patterson, Holland America.

Men’s Longest Drive – Steve Goodfellow, Air Canada.

Best Photo Award – Rob Stockman, Transat, Donna Glover, Transat, Anita Spier, Myles TravelPlus Dundas, Valerie Sagar, Myles TravelPlus Dundas.