CAC, IAC members announced by TICO

The Travel Industry Council of Ontario (TICO has announced the creation of two new advisory councils – the Consumer Advisory Council (CAC) and the Industry Advisory Council (IAC).

The CAC and IAC will play a crucial role in advising TICO’s Board of Directors and management on matters related to consumer protection, challenges and opportunities affecting Ontario’s travel industry and overall emerging trends.

“The individuals appointed across these two councils reflect diverse areas of leadership, expertise, broad consumer perspectives and industry knowledge,” said Richard Smart, TICO president and CEO. “Their insights and recommendations will be invaluable in informing the delivery of TICO’s consumer protection mandate to benefit both consumers and the travel industry as a whole.”

Member council announced

Following a comprehensive recruitment and selection process, TICO is pleased to announce the members of its inaugural councils:

Consumer Advisory Council

  • Angela Dennis – Better Business Bureau Serving Central Ontario Inc. – CAC Chair
  • Ron Noble – Catholic Health Association of Ontario – CAC Vice-Chair
  • Aly Alibhai – Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services (Government of Ontario)
  • Andrew Gaudes – Goodman School of Business, Brock University
  • George Nikolov – Governance Advisor/Consultant
  • Irene Kairys – Humber College
  • Judy Pfeifer – Financial Services Regulatory Authority
  • Kashmera Self – Interac Corp.
  • Liz Maier – The Salvation Army
  • Marc Spector – Home Construction Regulatory Authority
  • Scott Roseblade – Goway Travel Limited
  • Yashy Murphy – Parenting To Go

Industry Advisory Council

  • Robert Townshend – Total Advantage Travel and Tours – IAC Chair
  • Charles Zhao – CPTrip Service Inc.
  • Danuela Freel – Four Point Travel
  • Gregory Luciani – TravelOnly Inc.
  • Jay Katzeff – Cottage Vacations
  • Jean Hébert – Canadian Association of Tour Operators
  • Jennifer DiNardo – Bella Vista Travel
  • Joanne Dhue – Sunwing Vacations Inc.
  • Julie Boucher – Tully Luxury Travel Inc.
  • Karen Nasmith – Skican Ltd.
  • Martin Taller – Algonquin College
  • Robert Mackie – Expedia Cruises
  • Scott Selig – Amex Bank of Canada
  • Vince Accardi – Ontario Motor Coach Association
  • Wendy Paradis – Association of Canadian Travel Agencies and Travel Advisors

The inaugural meetings of the CAC and IAC will take place in May 2024.

Go to for more on the CAC and IAC.