EU Adds Canada To Its List

After reviewing its recommendations for the gradual lifting of temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, the Council of the European Union has updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted.

As a result of that review, Canada, along with nine other countries, has been added to that list and based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, as of July 1, 2021, member states should gradually lift the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Jordan
  • Montenegro
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Moldova
  • Saudi Arabia

Destinations already on the EU’s list include:

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Lebanon
  • New Zealand
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • United States of America
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for the special administrative regions of China Hong Kong and Macao.

Under the category of entities and territorial authorities that are not recognized as states by at least one member state, travel restrictions for Kosovo and Taiwan should also be gradually lifted.

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation.

In its recommendations, the Council notes that its list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks and, as the case may be, updated.