TIABC Welcomes Resort Municipality Funding for Tourism


The Tourism Industry Association of British Columbia (TIABC) applauds the recent announcement by the government of British Columbia on providing $10.5 million under the Resort Municipality Initiative (RMI) to 14 designated communities to support programs or projects that lead to providing a better tourism experience for visitors which will help to increase the tourism component of the local economy.

“The funding to support tourism in these communities couldn’t have come at a better time,” says Ian Robertson, executive director of TIABC. “Tourism is on the rebound and this additional funding will help these resort-based communities address challenges they face as seasonally dependent economies to grow their tourism offerings.”

Municipalities participating in the RMI program are Fernie, Golden, Harrison Hot Springs, Invermere, Kimberley, Osoyoos, Radium Hot Springs, Revelstoke, Rossland, Sun Peaks, Tofino, Ucluelet, Valemount and Whistler.