TICO Ushers In Governance Changes, Welcomes New Directors

TICO held its AGM on Sept. 26 to share the organization’s milestones from the previous fiscal year.

Richard Smart, TICO CEO Richard Smart, said: “The ever-changing landscape of the travel industry over the past three years has meant that both consumers and registrants have needed support more than ever before.”

He continued: “In working with both groups, our aim has always been, and continues to be, to find fair solutions so that consumers remain confident purchasing their travel from Ontario’s registered businesses.”

The AGM saw TICO’s membership confirm by-law amendments. Some of these were in relation to the Minister’s Orders to TICO on Aug. 11, 2023, while others were general governance changes.

For more on TICO’s by-law amendments, check out this video:

TICO’s members voted for three public elected directors:

  • Christopher Warren for a three-year term
  • Heather Colquhoun for a two-year term
  • Archana Gupta-Harit for a one-year term

Due to a technical error with the technology provider, some AGM participants were unable to complete the industry director vote. To ensure a fair and equitable process, TICO re-launched a registration and voting process following the AGM, which was held on Oct. 10 and Oct. 11.

The two elected industry directors are:

  • Robert Townshend for a three-year term
  • Andrew Dawson for a two-year term

TICO’s Board of Directors is now comprised of three Ministerial appointees, three elected industry directors and three elected public directors.

Michael Levinson, Chair of TICO’s Board of Directors, said: “This commitment to a competency-based and diverse Board will not only strengthen TICO’s governance but will also empower us to make more informed and inclusive decisions in the interest of consumer protection and all stakeholders.”

Pursuant to the Minister’s Orders issued on Aug. 11, 2023, an Industry Advisory Council will be implemented prior to Jan. 1, 2024.

More information about the Industry Advisory Council will be shared later this fall.

The AGM was also an opportunity to recognize the commitment and impact of six outgoing Directors:

  • Nicole Bursey
  • Joanne Dhue
  • Mike Foster
  • Ted Goldenberg
  • Monica Johnstone
  • Scott Stewart

A recording of the AGM and questions that were not addressed live will be made available to all registrants next week.

Go to www.tico.ca for more.