Hawaii Mandates Self-Quarantine For Visitors

Effective March 26 at 12:01 a.m., Hawaii Governor David Ige is mandating all visitors arriving in Hawaii to self-quarantine for 14 days. The mandate, the first such action in the United States, applies to all arrivals at state airports from the continental U.S. and international destinations and extends to other private and commercial aircrafts.

The mandate follows Ige’s request on March 17 that all travellers suspend  travel to Hawaii for 30 days. He also requested the closure of all bars, clubs, theatres, entertainment centres and visitor attractions across the state.

Restaurants were also asked to close or provide drive-through, take out, pick-up or delivery. The Hawaii State Department of Land and Natural Resources  also closed all state parks, and commercial ocean and trail tours on March 20.

“Hawaii has a long-standing tradition of welcoming visitors from around the world,” said John Monahan, CEO of the Hawaii Visitors and Convention Bureau. “Like other destinations around the globe, the health and well-being of our visitors and visitor industry employees, ohana (families), our communities, health care professionals and healthcare system is our primary focus at this time.”

Monahan added “We are urging visitors to postpone their trips to Hawaii to give us the opportunity to curtail the impacts of COVID-19 in our communities and be better prepared to welcome travellers back to the islands when the time is right.”

All visitors arriving through Hawaii’s airports will complete a Hawaii Department of Agriculture form that will be distributed onboard their flight. They will retain the form when disembarking the aircraft.

Upon arrival, they will go through a checkpoint and present the completed form with a valid identification. Checkpoint staff will validate the form and issue documentation that certifies they cleared the checkpoint. The form also includes information on the mandatory requirements for the 14-day quarantine along with penalties.

Failure to follow this order is punishable by a maximum fine of $5,000, or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both.

For updates about the COVID-19 situation in Hawaii, visit GoHawaii.com.